Updated 25 October 2016

Caveat: This is NOT an official list. I'll occasionally confirm a player's status with someone in the organization, but on the whole, this is my personally constructed list. Don't plan your life around its accuracy. Let me know at @scottrlucas if you see a mistake.

Players signed at age 18 or younger are eligible for the Rule 5 draft after their fifth season. Those 19 or older are eligible after four years. Eligibility is based on when players sign. Service time does not matter.

In general, players off the 40-man roster can become free agents after seven seasons. (The term "six-year free agent" is a bit misleading, as it applies to six contract renewals, not seasons.) Service time does affect free agency. International free agents who don't play the year they signed (as is common) belong to the team for seven seasons after they sign. Players who miss significant time with injury (Tommy John, e.g.) might belong to the team beyond seven seasons (e.g., Chad Bell).

For draft eligible players, the numbers in parentheses are the draft year and round. "FA" means the player signed as a free agent. "--2" means the player was R5-eligible previous season and not selected ("--3" = 3rd year eligible).

For international free agents, the number in parentheses is the signing year. "a" means the player signed after the season and gets an extra year of protection from the R5 draft. Most signees are 18 or younger. "/19" means the player was 19 or older and becomes R5-eligible after four years instead of five.

Not listed: 2016 draft picks and J2s, most international free agents who haven't reached the US, many AAA vets.

After 2016 / Also Potential FA After 2016 After 2017 After 2018 After 2019 After 2020
Note: These players will become free agents after 2016, but they could be re-signed and would then be eligible for the Rule 5 draft if not protected.
US Players Signed by Texas
C Kellin Deglan (2010/1) -- 3
LHP Jimmy Reyes (2010/7) -- 4
IF Drew Robinson (2010/4) -- 3
International Free Agents
IF Luis Mendez (2009a) --3
LHP Victor Payano (2010) -- 3
RHP David Perez (2009a) ? -- 3
Other Free Agents (not complete list)
C Alex Burg
IF Edwin Garcia
RHP Jefri Hernandez
RHP Francisco Mendoza
RHP Jose Monegro
C/IF Kevin Torres
US Players Signed by Texas
OF Preston Beck (2012/5) -- 2
OF Royce Bolinger (2012/6) -- 2
C Pat Cantwell (2012/3) -- 2
RHP Nick Gardewine (2013/7)
C Joe Jackson (2013/5)
C Sherman Lacrus (2013/27)
RHP David Ledbetter (2013/3)
RHP Ryan Ledbetter (2013/19)
C David Lyon (2012/34)
C Charles Moorman (2012/17)
LHP Ryne Slack (2012/FA) -- 2
IF Evan Van Hoosier (2013/8)
RHP Collin Wiles (2012/1s)
RHP Cole Wiper (2013/10)
RHP Sam Wolff (2013/6)
International Free Agents
OF Jairo Beras (2012)
OF Oliver Caraballo (2011a)
OF Jose Cardona (2011) -- 2
RHP Felix Carvallo (2011a)
IF Elio Castillo (2010a) -- 2
C Carlos Garay (2011a)
IF Ronald Guzman (2011) -- 2
LHP Frank Lopez (2010a) -- 2
RHP Omarlin Lopez (2013/19)
IF Luis Marte (2010a) -- 2
RHP Pedro Payano (2011a) -- 2
RHP Richelson Pena (2011) -- 2
OF Eduard Pinto (2011a)
IF Juremi Profar (2012)
RHP Ricardo Rodriguez (2010a) -- 2
IF Alberto Triunfel (2010a) -- 2
RHP Kelvin Vasquez (2011) -- 2
RHP Jose Valdespina (2011) -- 2
Trade Acquisitions / Others
US Players Signed by Texas
LHP Wes Benjamin (2014/5)
RHP John Fasola (2014/31)
LHP Joe Filomeno (2014/15)
RHP Reed Garrett (2014/16)
IF Isiah Kiner-Falefa (2013/4)
RHP Lucas Lanphere (2013/21)
LHP Brett Martin (2014/4)
IF Tripp Martin (2014/22)
LHP Shane McCain (2014/FA)
RHP Austin Pettibone (2014/24)
RHP Cody Palmquist (2014/30)
LHP Joseph Palumbo (2013/30)
RHP Adam Parks (2014/33)
RHP Storm Rynard (2014/34)
C Seth Spivey (2014/10)
OF Luke Tendler (2014/29)
IF Jose Trevino (2014/6)
RHP Scott Williams (2014/11)
LHP Sterling Wynn (2014/21)
International Free Agents
OF Jose Almonte (2013)
RHP Edgar Arredondo (2013)
OF Carlos Arroyo (2012a)
IF Michael De Leon (2013)
RHP Jon. Hernandez (2013)
RHP Ariel Jurado (2012a)
RHP Johan Juan (2013)
OF Todd McDonald (2013)
RHP Emerson Martinez (2013)
IF Brallan Perez (2012a)
C Yohel Pozo (2013)
RHP Argenis Rodriguez (2013)
IF Yeyson Yrizarri (2013)
LHP Sam Zazueta (2013)
Trade Acquisitions
IF Frandy De La Rosa (2012)
US Players Signed by Texas
IF Josh Altmann (2015/22)
RHP Blake Bass (2015/8)
LHP Adam Choplick (2015/14)
OF Ledarious Clark (2015/12)
RHP Tyler Davis (2015/23)
LF Darius Day (2014/23)
RHP Peter Fairbanks (2015/9)
RHP Tyler Ferguson (2015/6)
IF Tiquan Forbes (2014/2)
OF Scott Heineman (2015/11)
LHP Clyde Kendrick (2015/27)
RHP Jake Lemoine (2015/4)
OF London Lindley (2015/40)
OF Connor McKay (2015/FA)
IF Josh Morgan (2014/3)
RHP Mike Matuella (2015/3)
IF Dylan Moore (2015/7)
LHP CD Pelham (2015/33)
RHP Adam Quintana (2015/FA)
C Isaias Quiroz (2014/20)
LHP Jason Richman (2015/18)
C Tyler Sanchez (2015/17)
RHP Jake Shortslef (2015/26)
LHP Jeffrey Springs (2015/30)
IF Xavier Turner (2015/19)
International Free Agents
RHP Israel Cruz (2014)
IF Andy Ibanez (2015/19)
C Melvin Novia (2013a)
US Players Signed by Texas
RHP Demarcus Evans (2015/25)
OF Eric Jenkins (2015/2)
OF Nick Kaye (2015/15)
RHP Tyler Phillips (2015/16)
OF Chad Smith (2015/5)
1B Curtis Terry (2015/13)
RHP John Werner (2015/32)
International Free Agents
OF Miguel Aparicio (2015)
OF Leody Taveras (2015)
whoa there

David Perez missed significant time for Tommy John and might not be a free agent after this season.

Need to check on Jairo Beras, who spent first season on suspended list.